New city council seated in Macomb

New City Council seated in MacombThe Macomb City Council now has new faces in its ranks and fewer members after redistricting.
At Monday’s city council meeting, Kay Hill was honored by Mayor Mike Inman for her service as alderman since May 2011. Several alderman expressed their thanks to Hill, who lost this year’s election to Steve Wailand after a controversial trial.
Tim Lobdell was also honored at the meeting. Lobdell lost to Alderman Dave Dorsett after the fifth and sixth wards were condensed this year because the 2011 census saw a decrease in residents.
Wailand was sworn in as second ward alderman and sat in on his first city council meeting as an elected representative this week.
Dave Dorsett and Tom Koch drew for the fourth ward alderman seat and Alderman-at-Large. Dorsett drew fourth ward alderman, and Tom Koch took his place as Alderman-at-Large. Both will hold this title until 2015.
The city council will consist of 5 aldermen and 3 Aldermen-at-Large until the next election, different from what we saw last term with 7 aldermen and 2 Alderman-at-Large.